Oftentimes bands with clever and interesting names don’t live up to the hype; Ringo Deathstarr is not one of those bands. Their new album, Sparkler, reminds me of the late ’80s new wave movement, except a lot noisier. As a matter of fact, the whole production is quite noisy, almost to the point of distraction.

This Austin, Texas trio creates songs that are atmospheric, morose, dreamy and at times hypnotic, making them the perfect dance floor soundtrack. I think this is especially true on the tune, “In Love”, which is one of the more upbeat jams on the disc and really gets a good, mesmerizing, infectious groove going.

Sparkler is one of those gems in the rough; the songs are real good, but the noise just put me off. It’s captivating and if the whole thing weren’t so noisy I think I might listen to this more often. You be the judge!

Track Listing:

01. Swirly
02. Starrsha
03. Same Kind Of Sad
04. Down On You
05. Sweet Girl
06. In Love
07. Rats Live On No Evil Star
08. Summertime
09. Your Town

Run Time: 27:38
Release Date: September 13, 2011

Check out the song: “Same Kind Of Sad”