Krampus: a demon-like mythical creature that is recognized in the alpine countries. As legend says, Krampus accompanies St. Nicholas during the Christmas season punishing and warning naughty children; pretty much the anti-Santa. But in this case, Krampus is the name of the folk, death metal band from Udine, Italy.

A first glance, the debut (Shadows Of Our Time) album’s cover art reveals a demonic Krampus emerging from the clouds and looming over a city. Moreover, when flipping through the enclosed booklet one notices the band members’ formally dressed and standing in front of mirrors which reflect them in their stage attire; symbolic of the diversity in the musicians’ lives.

As previously mentioned, Krampus are a folk, death metal band which, by genre association alone perfectly describes their sound. They’ve essentially written death metal music overlayed with violins, flutes, bagpipes, keyboards and more. It’s this mixture that allows the music to take on a strong Celtic vibe; increasing desires to drink beer and headbang! The diverse arsenal of instruments used keeps the music fresh and the songs original. Krampus have put together some brutal folk, death metal on Shadows Of Our Time and is well worth checking out.

Track Listing:

01. Echoes From The Ancients
02. Shadows Of Our Time
03. Tears Of Stone
04. The Rocks Of Verden
05. Witches’ Lullaby
06. Howl
07. Wooden Memories

Run Time: 25:40
Release Date: December 29, 2010

Check out the song: “The Rock Of Verden”