I’ve been a fan of UK thrash band Evile since the release of their record, Into The Grave. They’ve always had a way of cranking out solid, good quality thrash metal and this new disc is no exception. Initially I curious to see if they could pull it off without original bassist Mike Alexander (Alexander died suddenly back in 2009), but they do more than just pull it off; with speed and tons of bone-crushing riffs they knock it out of the park!

New bassist Joel Graham does a terrific job in holding down the low end, providing a foundation to layer the unbelievable lead guitars. Expect the same amazing Evile, but they do change things up in a big way with the tune, “In Memoriam”; a slowed down acoustic song that honors the memory of Alexander and opens with a super cool bass line somewhat along the lines of a Cliff Burton era Metallica song. At the end of the day I think Evile have matured in leaps and bounds and Five Serpent’s Teeth is by far their best work. This is a must for thrashers everywhere!

Track Listing:

01. Five Serpent’s Teeth
02. In Dreams Of Terror
03. Cult
04. Eternal Empire
05. Xaraya
06. Origin Of Oblivion
07. Centurion
08. In Memoriam
09. Descend Into Darkness
10. Long Live New Flesh

Run Time: 53:24
Release Date: October 4, 2011

Check out the song: “Eternal Empire”