Front man James Heart took a big leap in his career when he started Burn Halo, writing the band’s self-titled debut alone. This time around, however the band: Joey Roxx, Brandon Lynn, Aaron Boehler and Dillon Ray, all contributed to the writing of the 11 track release, Up From The Ashes. So, how did it turn out with 5 sets of ears involved in the writing?

The dynamics of this album may be simple, but this is what makes it catchy; with songs that can be well received by radio. The simplicity definitely works in Burn Halo’s favour making the songs easy to structure. It also gives James Heart the opportunity to write the best possible vocal lines for each songs. The only drawback with this album is that after a while I feel like I have been listening to the same song on repeat. But, as single songs they are all pretty catchy.

Burn Halo has written 11 solid tunes which I’m surprised aren’t more prevalent on radio. Surely, they will break out in Canada one day. Fingers crossed they can bump Disturbed off the air waves. Wishful thinking, I know.

Track Listing:

01. Tear It Down
02. Up From The Ashes
03. Straded
04. Threw It All Away
05. Alone
06. Stuck In A Rut
07. Give Me A Sign
08. Dakota
09. Rest My Soul
10. I Won’t Back Down
11. Shine

Run Time: 46:15
Release Date: June 28, 2011

Check out the song: “Tear It Down”