At-a-vism: the reappearance of a characteristic in an organism (biologically, culturally, creatively) after several generations of absence. This word ‘atavism’ captures Otep perfectly; an inventive musician who has returned with her latest masterpiece Atavist, an album which is a projection of her ever-growing creativity.

This release displays the true character of nu-metal; heavy with simple instrumental riffs and powerful vocals lead by Otep. Being the constant musician on every track, Atavist revolves around Otep Shamaya who is accompanied by a variety of instrumentalists. There’s a creepy ambiance throughout the album created by her ability to transition from singing to grungy shouting. Renowned for her poetry, Shamaya shares some of her spine-chilling poems as she intensifies the suspense through her breathy recitation.

Otep has flown under the rock scene radar for many years, ready to spring out, bringing her name to the forefront once again. Hopefully this album will break through the barriers as a demonstration of real nu-metal; not the crap we hear on the radio.

Track Listing:

01. Atavist Animus
02. Atom To Adam
03. Drunk On The Blood Of Saints
04. Remember To Forget
05. Skin Of The Master
06. We Dream Like Lions
07. I, Alone
08. Baby’s Breath
09. Fists Fall
10. Stay
11. Bible Belt
12. Not To Touch The Earth (The Doors cover)

Run Time: 50:55
Release Date: April 26, 2011

Check out the song: “Fists Fall”