Hot Damn! This is the best record I’ve heard this year. As a huge fan of Unearth I’ve been anticipating Darkness In The Light for a while now and after listening to the album in its entirety I’m totally stoked; this disc kicks! This is the band’s fifth full-length release and I think their maturity as songwriters and musicians is quite evident. While the songs are heavy they still all manage to maintain a certain amount of melody to them, even going as far as to include a cleaner vocal in the disc opener, “Watch It Burn”.

Vocalist Trevor Phipps is at the top of his game and he sounds as angry, commanding and ferocious as ever. The guitar shredding is top notch and most every song comes complete with a nice sized breakdown that is sure to get the crowds swirling. Listeners might even be surprised to find a piano-laced tune (“Equinox”) on the disc; but I think it works well and it eventually morphs into something a bit heavier. Bottom line, Darkness In The Light is good, solid, old fashioned “metalcore” delivered by a band that has been and continues to be influential in defining and shaping the genre.

Track Listing:

01. Watch It Burn
02. Ruination Of The Lost
03. Shadows In The Light
04. Eyes Of Black
05. Last Wish
06. Arise The War Cry
07. Equinox
08. Coming Of The Dark
09. The Fallen
10. Overcome
11. Disillusion

Run Time: 38:55
Release Date: 07.05.2011

Check out the song: “Eyes Of Black”