After a 14 year absence from the metal scene, the legendary tech death metal band Pestilence is back with a new disc titled Doctrine. This is a band that has always pushed the musical boundaries of the thrash/death metal genres by incorporating a hefty amount of jazz fusion and funk into their brand of extreme metal. Doctrine carries on that tradition by incorporating all kinds of super-techy time changes, jazzy funkiness and spastic guitar solos throughout the disc.

Patrick Mameli’s vocals on this release are a bit of a different story. Gone are the death metal vocals of yore, instead Mameli takes a much different approach with a vocal delivery that sounds like the crazy ramblings of a lunatic or madman. I was not expecting this and honestly, it was a bit too much for my liking, and really became a deal breaker.

Admittedly I am not the biggest fan of the tech death metal genre, but I can most often objectively appreciate what I hear and review it from a neutral standpoint. With that being said, Doctrine really did nothing for me at all and in all likelihood I will probably never spin it again.

Track Listing:

01. The Prediction
02. Amgod
03. Doctrine
04. Salvation
05. Dissolve
06. Absolution
07. Sinister
08. Divinity
09. Deception
10. Malignant

Run Time: 39:30
Release Date: May 24, 2011

Check out the song: “Amgod”