Night Ranger doesn’t recreate the wheel on their new disc Somewhere In California, but rather stuck close to familiar territory, releasing a record that consists of great big choruses, lots of sing-along moments and a pristine production. While this record doesn’t tread new territory, it doesn’t necessarily miss the mark entirely either.

I predict it will be a favorite of the scores of fans out there who either grew up listening to these guys or like their music more along the super-polished, uber-commercial lines. Compared to most of the 80’s bands that have come and gone Night Ranger has released a good disc that doesn’t seem forced or the result of a need for a quick buck. These guys still have the chops and they’ve always been great at writing the radio hits. Fans of the band will totally dig this disc, as for me I did not dislike it, I just don’t think it’s very memorable.

Track Listing:

01. Growin’ Up In California
02. Lay It On Me
03. Bye Bye Baby (Not Tonight)
04. Follow Your Heart
05. Time Of Our Lives
06. No time To Lose Ya
07. Live For Today
08. It’s Not Over
09. End Of The day
10. Rock N’ Roll Tonite
11. Say It With Love

Run Time: ??:??
Release Date: 06.17.2011

Check out the song: “Growin’ Up In California”