For their sophomore release, Illinois based metalcore band Hope For The Dying come out swinging. The sheer technicality of the tracks on Dissimulation is phenomenal. While the absolutely insane guitar shredding and jazzy influenced metal is definitely impressive (very impressive), I think it’s a bit showy and perhaps at times a bit too much. There’s so much going on in the songs that I found it difficult to kick back and just listen for the sake of enjoyment.

Tech-metal heads are sure to eat this one up though as there are plenty of memorable moments within these songs. Maybe I don’t have a good attention span, but I believe song length is another issue here, with tunes like “Transcend” and “The Awakening” clocking in at over 7:00 minutes in length I found it difficult to remain engaged for very long. Overall, while the technical wizardry is well worth the listen, I don’t think it will make it into my regular rotation.

Track Listing:

01. Exordium
02. Vacillation
03. Orison
04. Transcend
05. Imminent War
06. Perpetual Ruin
07. The Awakening
08. The Awakening: Dissimulation
09. The Awakening: The Veil Lifted
10. Vile Reflections
11. Derisions

Run Time: 54:06
Release Date: 04.26.2011

Check out the song: “Orison”