Breakdowns, 2-step and low growls are three trends North American deathcore bands live by. Some succeed with them and others… well not so much. One band who has been able to master these skills is Emmure. Speaker Of The Dead is the band’s fourth studio album and again, they give us their best.

This album consists of 15 deathening tracks and like previous releases, Emmure stick to their routine of playing numerous breakdowns throughout the songs. One thing that really stands out is the neat little effects which help their songs flow from one tempo to another. Compared with past work, Emmure has maintained their same musical trends while making their music heavier; giving the band a larger sound overall.

One thing I’ve always like about Emmure are the references they make in their songs. Right off the bat you’re met with song titles like “Children Of Cybertron” (a Transformers reference) and “Dogs Get Put Down”, which refers to the movie Watchmen. “Demons With Ryu” and “Last Words To Rose” are about characters in the popular video game series Street Fighter, while another reference in the song “My Name Is Thanos” features a quote from Charles Manson. Finding these gems is always a plus.

Speaker Of The Dead demonstrates how Emmure is sticking to a formula that works for them. They aim to keep getting heavier and to crush all other deathcore bands under their feet in the process. Core fans of Dr. Acula, Arise And Ruin, The Warriors and Carnifex will really enjoy throwing down to Emmure.

Track Listing:

01. Children Of Cybertron
02. Area 64-66
03. Dogs Get Put Down
04. Demons With Ryu
05. Solar Flare Homicide
06. Eulogy Of Giants
07. Bohemian Grove
08. 4 Poisons 3 Words
09. Cries Of Credo
10. Last Words To Rose
11. A Voice From Below
12. Drug Dealer Friend
13. My Name Is Thanos
14. Lights Bring Salvation
15. Words Of Intulo

Run Time: 38:23
Release Date: 02.15.2011

Check out the song: “4 Poisons 3 Words”