Als Wären Wir Für Immer is the latest release from German industrial rockers Die Krupps. With just 5 original tracks, the EP is filled out a little with the addition of an extra three remixes.

“Beyond” immediately sets the EP up in traditional Die Krupps fashion: the prevalent synthesized sounds quickly lead into deep electronic rock beats to create a gruff, but melodic sound. “The Chameleon Man” continues the cool post-industrial feel, although it does sound a little like the Bloodhound Gang’s “The Bad Touch”, which does detract somewhat from the sincerity of Jürgen Engler’s vocal.

Die Krupps return to their German roots in “Die Macht,” which is sung in their native tongue. Somehow, the German lyrics seem to fit much better with the music; it feels much more genuine, rather than feeling like that vaguely derisive Kraftwerk-inspired electropop that can be heard in the following track, “Dr. Mabuse.”

It could be argued that any really good album shouldn’t need bonus songs, and considering almost 40% of the music on Als Wären Wir Für Immer is remixes of the other EP tracks, it does beg the question as to what the remixes were intended to add, because they don’t really add anything and are samey enough to actually be kind of pointless.

Unavailing remixes aside, this is an OK release. Die Krupps are back making the brooding European electro-rock they’ve always been so good at, and while Als Wären Wir Für Immer probably won’t be making any major breakthroughs, it’s worth a listen if you’re a fan of the genre.  [ END ]

Track Listing:

01. Beyond
02. The Chameleon Man
03. Die Macht
04. Dr. Mabuse
05. Als wären wir wür immer
06. Beyond (Unheilig remix)
07. The Chameleon Man (Vigilante remix)
08. Dr. Mabuse (Memphis remix)

Run Time: 39:03
Release Date: 01.11.2011