Horror punk band Murderdolls have recently released their newest CD Women And Children Last. Judging by the artwork alone, one would expect to be sonically assaulted by yet another death metal band; but this is not the case at all. Musically, the disc is a series of well-crafted, hard-hitting tunes with influences ranging from early Motley Crue and Danzig to the Misfits.

The tracks are heavy, yet extremely hook-laden and catchy and in no time at all you’ll find yourself singing along to tunes with titles such as “Homicide Drive,” “Chapel Of Blood,” and “Whatever You Got I’m Against It.” Thematically, donning horrific looking costumes that make them look like something out of ‘Night Of The Living Dead,’ band members Wednesday 13 and Joey Jordison make references to all things macabre and taboo; nothing is sacred as far a lyrical content is concerned.

This is evident in the song “Bored To Death” with lyrics like: “Bored To Death Nothing To Lose/ Gonna put a motherfucking bullet in you/ Sick of your lies and all of your shit/ The thought of you living just makes me sick.”

Overall this is a very intriguing disc; I got more than a few chuckles at the lyrical content and at first I was not sure if I should take the band seriously as I’m not sure they even take themselves seriously. After a few listens however, it is evident that despite the tongue in cheek B movie horror lyrics and sexual innuendos, there are some very good songs at the core of it all.

If you are a fan of sleazy, punk metal, Women And Children Last is going to be right up your ally. I know I really enjoyed it, even though it left me feeling a bit filthy and in need of shower.  [ END ]

Track Listing:

01. The World According To Revenge
02. Chapel Of Blood
03. Bored ‘Til Death
04. Drug Me To Hell
05. Nowhere
06. Summertime Suicide
07. Death Valley Superstars
08. My Dark Place Alone
09. Blood Stained Valentine
10. Pieces Of You
11. Homicide Drive
12. Rock ‘N” Roll Is All I Got
13. Nothing’s Gonna Be Alright
14. Whatever You Got I’m Against It
15. Hello, Goodbye, Die

Total Time 47:37
Release Date: 08.31.2010