Over the past few years deathcore and progressive metal are two genres that have been popping up everywhere. Now let’s do an experiment and mix the two together and presto, the blend creates the progressive deathcore band Veil Of Maya. Hailing from Chicago, Illinois, Veil Of Maya recently released their third album [id]. This release was highly anticipated record within the ‘core’ scene and now the question remains… did they meet expectations? Read on and find out.

The album begins with the title track “[id]” which includes a massive breakdown and complex pieces. This continues for 43 seconds and then streams into the song “Unbreakable”. At this point the pace of the song doubles and you hear the growls of singer Brandon Butler. This song sets the mood for the rest of the album as the band gets straight to the point and shoots off complexly heavy numbers. By the end you will be itching for more, so the repeat button comes in handy.

The main part I want to emphasize here is the guitar work of Marc Okubo. On each and every song he delivers some of Veil Of Maya’s heaviest riffs to date. It is always a joy to hear his work on albums and this one is no exception. He has kept the groovie breakdowns, happy but heavy guitar riffs and lots of crazy extras. If anyone needs a great guitarist to idolize I recommend Marc Okubo.

[id] is one for the record books. It has everything a fan of Veil Of Maya would expect from the band and more. If you were a fan of either of their previous two albums, then this is a must buy! Fans of After The Burial, Circle Of Contempt, Born Of Osiris and The Faceless will also enjoy this release.  [ END ]

Track Listing:

01. [id]
02. Unbreakable
03. Dark Passenger
04. The Higler
05. Martyrs
06. Resistance
07. Circle
08. Mowgli
09. Namaste
10. Conquer
11. Codex

Run Time: 29:14
Release Date: 04.06.2010