Major Pain 2 Indee Freedom is the newest release from the band (hed) p.e. This is a greatest hits collection with a bonus DVD that includes a live set recorded at in Los Angeles in HD. This unequivocally original band is back with their trademark mixture of hip-hop, reggae, punk and heavy metal. Most every track on the disc seamlessly fuses all of these genres into top notch tunes that demand to be played loud… very loud.

As was the case with previous (hed) p.e. albums the themes on this one all center around the idea that we have been knowingly suppressed by those we thought would defend us. In addition our country has been entertained and kept in a state of ignorance to our real existence. Pretty much the message of the band is that our freedom as Americans is being stolen from us while we keep ourselves blissfully entertained and ignorant to our surroundings. Mixed in with this ideology is the idea that a reptilian race has overtaken the United States and is in control behind the scenes.

Heavy stuff indeed, but luckily, for those of us who would prefer to listen to music for the sole reason of rocking out, this record works on numerous levels. Musically it is quite good. Lots of really good guitar playing and (for lack of a better word to describe it) lots of Rap-Metal moments that I feel really work.

Since this is a greatest hits release you will find some very old tracks on it including “Firsty” and “Killing Time.” Some of the songs that stand out to me are “Stay Ready” and “Renegade”, both of which successfully meld the aforementioned genres making for very good, somewhat avant-garde tunes.

Bottom line even if you cannot identify or even relate to the overtly often-preachy messages and themes of this record, this is still a good disc and should be a welcome addition to fans of the band or the Rap/Metal genre.  [ END ]

Track Listing

01. Firsty
02. Bartender
03. Killing Time
04. Blackout
05. Represent
06. Sophia
07. Let’s Ride
08. Peer Pressure
09. Novus Ordos Clitorus
10. Suffa
11. Comeova2nite
12. Wind Me Up
13. Madhouse
14. Renegade
15. Here And Now (Remix)
16. Stay Ready
17. Ordo (Ab Chad)
18. No Rest 4 Da Wicked

Run Time: 61:51
Release Date: 06.21.2010