As of late metal bands seem to have been dropping like flies for reasons unknown to me. Band deaths aside however, many other have been able to stay in the game. Heaven Shall Burn are one such band and despite having been around since 1996, are still going strong today with the release of their sixth full length Invictus. Not only is it their sixth album, it is the final part of the ‘Iconoclast’ trilogy.

The trilogy started in 2008 with their previous full length Iconoclast (Part 1: The Final Resistance). The second part was the live CD/DVD Bildersturm: Iconoclast II (The Visual Resistance). This latest album, Invictus (Iconoclast III) completes the story.

The album begins with a piano intro, followed by Heaven Shall Burn smashing into the song “The Omen”. They deliver their brand of German metalcore unlike any other; it is full of thrashing riffs and melodic choruses backed with some crazy death metal growls by Marcus Bischoff. This formula runs through every track and the group makes it work for them. One song that stands out is “Given In Death”. It features Sabine Weniger and Sebastian Reichl of Deadlock. The female vocals of Sabine really help to diversify and mellow out the song but otherwise this album is 45 minutes of chaos.

Heaven Shall Burn has demonstrated that German metal is alive and well and is progressing steadily with every other genera of music. Fans of Suicide Silence, Architects, The Haunted and Nachtmystium will love this release. Make sure you go pick up this heart-filled headbanger!  [ END ]

Track Listing:

01. Intro
02. The Omen
03. Combat
04. I Was I Am I Shall Be
05. Buried In Forgotten Grounds
06. Sevastopoll
07. The Lie You Bleed For
08. Return To Sanity
09. Against Bridge Burners
10. Of Forsaken Poets
11. Given In Death
12. Outro

Run Time: 45:01
Release Date: 06.08.2010