Beating a Dead Horse to Death… Again is a collection of re-recordings, and previously unreleased material. The renditions of these songs are considerably as brilliant as the originals, though DFD covering Dog Fashion Disco songs is not something unheard of.

The title of this album is absolutely correct, through the years Dog Fashion Disco have gone through many changes. This is not the first time that they have re-worked one of their songs and re-released it. The difference that always makes it interesting however is that new versions of their old work will most times sound like a completely different song.

I find that Beating a Dead Horse to Death… Again is the perfect name considering what I just reflected upon. This album (released a year after the band split up) definitely has its highs, and lows. Being the best, and worst Dog Fashion Disco album released. Granted it’s not exactly a studio release like their last Adultery. More like a greatest hits of a band that unfortunately never fully hit the vein of the mainstream audience.

This album has a lot of history behind the tracks, some being made as jokes, others unreleased tracks. Listening to these recordings I found some amazing renditions, though some other takes on songs I found to take away from the original.

I would pick up a copy of Beating a Dead Horse to Death… Again or the Day of the Dead EP which was a four song album released for a limited time. I really enjoyed the track “Barely Breathing” but be warned, if you don’t know DFD stay away from this album. I would consider it fodder for hungry fans.

Track Listing:

01. Baby Satan
02. Day Of The Dead
03. Gardenia
04. Rat On A Sinking Ship
05. Devil’s Wife
06. Barely Breathing
07. Satan’s March
08. Anaconda
09. Worm In A Dog’s Heart
10. Rebel Yell
11. 100 Suicides
12. 9 To 5 At The Morgue
13. Desert Grave
14. Darkest Days
15. Magical Band Of Fools
16. Turing Gay
17. Hank Steel The Real Queer Cowboy

Run Time: 1:01:46
Release Date: 10.28.2008