Old Pride is the recently released debut LP from Pianos Become the Teeth. It boasts an eclectic mix of sounds complimented by lots and lots of screaming. Pianos Become the Teeth have created their own sound from a combo of ambient, experimental and indie music. The result is a bold and loud sound with a punch of more subdued musical flare.

Their indie influences, such as The Appleseed Cast, are amalgamated into songs such as “Pensive” to create quite a melodramatic tone. There’s only a trace of ambiance which is weaved into the mix of sounds while edgy guitars and the fast pace are the loudest and most notable parts of the album. Inspiration for this comes from none other than The Black Dahlia Murder who, although heavier, also uses these same sounds in their music.

Old Pride has lots of energy and is packed with creative talent. It is a must-listen for fans of screamo and experimental music. The album is a good collection of songs that demonstrate this band definitely has a lot of creativity and talent to offer their genre(s) of music. However, if you’re not interested in screaming, and the easygoing melodies of indie are a must in your musical flavour, don’t waste your time. This said, the band truly is talented however  [ END ]

Track Listing:

01. Filial
02. Quit Benefit
03. Sleepshaker
04. Prev
05. Pensive
06. Cripples Can’t Shiver
07. Jess and Charlie
08. Young Fire

Run Time: 36:05
Release Date: 01.26.2010