Tim Ripper Owens might very well have one of the most powerful and recognizable voices in modern metal; the emotion this man conveys with his voice is incredible. I would describe his voice as a cross between Ronnie James Dio and Rob Halford, if you can imagine that.

Owens has lent his talent to some of the biggest names in the business including stints with Judas Priest and guitar great Yngwie Malmstien. This time out he is at the helm of his own project. Play The Game is a star-studded affair boasting a list of world class metal musicians including Billy Sheehan (Mr. Big), Bruce Kullick (KISS) Rudy Sarzo (Ozzy, Whitesnake) and Michael Wilton (Queensryche). The sheer amount of talent on this disc is unreal. This is a solid, classic metal CD that is sure to please fans everywhere.

Play My Game is a series of colossal, incredible-sounding metal tunes that while heavy, also integrate extraordinary vocals and harmonies that harken back to the early days of the genre when the emphasis was on playing and not speed and shock value. As far as the production goes, I cannot say enough about it; this is one exceptional sounding record.

Play My Game starts with a bang on the tune “Starting Over” which sets the pace for the rest of the classic metal disc. Other highlights worth mentioning are “Pick Yourself Up” and “To Live Again”, which is absolutely amazing and is by far, my favorite song on this record.

Truthfully, I cannot get enough of this disc. I have long been a fan of this type of metal and I found myself listening to this disc repeatedly at what my neighbors would most likely call an extremely discourteous volume. It is that good!  [ END ]

Track Listing:

01. Starting Over
02. Believe
03. The Cover Up
04. Pick Yourself Up
05. It Is Me
06. No Good Goodbyes
07. To Live Again
08. The World Is Blind
09. The Light
10. Play My Game
11. Death Race
12. The Shadows Are Alive

Run Time: 52:59
Release Date: 05.19.2009