Connect with us

Album Review

King Diamond

The Graveyard [Reissue] (10.13.2009)



The Graveyard is the second King Diamond disc being reissued by Metal Blade records on October 13th. The newly re-mastered album is a dazzling display of quintessential King Diamond; the classic sound that is well loved by so many and that catapulted them to the top so many years ago. The Graveyard will include bonus material that purchasers will be able to obtain digitally. The disc will also include live “bootleg” versions (with video footage) of the classic King Diamond songs: “The Spider’s Lullabye,” “Trick Or Treat” and “Up From The Grave.”

I realize this may sound jaded as I am a quite big fan of King Diamond and his music, (even as far back as his early days with Mercyful Fate) but quite honestly this disc kicks some serious ass. I feel like I have been reacquainted with an old friend and the songs on this disc in particular brought back tons of memories. After the first time through I was reminded of just how influential and timeless these tracks really are. When it comes to metal, there is no one quite like the King; he is really in a class all by himself. Again, I am not sure if I can single out a favorite track on this disc, I like them all. I honestly found myself thoroughly engaged and engrossed for the full hour.

Whether you are a longtime fan of King Diamond or a relative “newbie” The Graveyard (Reissue) is a disc you are not going to want to miss. You owe it to yourself to give this one a spin; it is that good.  [ END ]

Track Listing:

01. The Graveyard
02. Black Hill Sanitarium
03. Waiting
04. Heads On The Wall
05. Whispers
06. I’m Not A Stranger
07. Digging Graves
08. Meet Me At Midnight
09. Sleep Tight Little Baby
10. Daddy
11. Trick Or Treat
12. Up From The Grave
13. I Am
14. Lucy Forever

Run Time: 61:12