Following their previous releases, including 2006 debut Sirens, It Dies Today has come together once again to unleash a bomb of a disc. This, their third full length album entitled, Lividity, happens to be the first showcasing new vocalist, Jason Wood. Let me say… change has been good for this band.

Jason was originally introduced by the band to fans through the re-recordings of “Sixth Of June” and “Through Leaves And Over Bridges”, which were streamed on Myspace. Lividity offers us another opportunity to hear what Jason brings to the table. Although similar to previous vocalist Nicolas Brooks, Jason has a stronger scream which only further mellows his singing voice used throughout the choruses; blending well with the rest of the band. Through this new voice alone, It Dies Today have already stepped up their game.

Vocal changes aside, It Dies Today remains a true metalcore band with the same thrashing guitar riffs and breakdowns that fans have come to love. The drums are simple yet powerful, providing a strong lead on timing while the bassist ties the band together while playing the root notes of the songs. Something worth noting is the track “Miss October” which features a guitar solo – something new for the band. Maybe this is an experiment that we may see continued in future albums?

Perhaps demonstrating a touch of nostalgia Lividity includes a bonus track cover of the song “Come Undone” by Duran Duran. If you remember, It Dies Today did a cover of Depeche Mode’s song “Enjoy The Silence” back in 2006. Though it appears It Dies Today likes to do covers of 80s bands, it was also a nice way to bring fans back to the band’s earlier days.

With It Dies Today have absolutely stepped up their game. Jason Wood’s vocal performance is outstanding and gives the band a more competitive edge within the metal scene. I anticipate great things to come! This album is for fans of Still Remains, Killswitch Engage, Haste The Day and Ligeia.  [ END ]

Track Listing:

01. This Ghost
02. Reckless Abandon
03. Thank You for Drinking
04. Miss October
05. Bled Out in Black and White
06. Martyr of Truth
07. Nihility
08. Life of Uncertainty
09. The Architects
10. Complacence Without Pursuit
11. Come Undone

Run Time: 44.08
Release Date: 09.15.2009