The newest release from Gwynbleidd, Nostalgia is an interesting combination of Black Metal, Death Metal and European Folk Music. I am admittedly not a huge fan of the extreme metal genres but I have to say this one peaked my interest right from the start and held it through to the end.

The first track, “Nostalgia” kicks things off with a bang, but it is the second song “Egress” where I found myself hooked and needed to hear more. The hypnotic, trance-like quality of the guitars and drums meld perfectly with the harsh growling creating an almost otherworldly atmosphere that is enticing and enjoyable. Other tunes worth mentioning are the melodic acoustic instrumental “Adrift,” which is a beautiful piece of music and “New Setting”, a good straight ahead slow burning metal song.

By far the tune I enjoyed the most was the incredibly diverse, and what I would call, epic tune “Canvas For Departure.” I feel it is here that the band hits their stride and really highlights their potential. This tune combines all of the aforementioned genres and attributes into one, almost nine-minute song that keeps morphing and changing and never gets boring. In fact with a variety of different things going on in this song I feel it is impossible to find yourself bored.

Bottom line, I like what the guys in Gwynbleidd have done with Nostalgia. This is a good disc and while I do not believe that I will be listening to it every day, I am sure I will revisit it in the near future. Check this one out it is worth a spin.  [ END ]

Track Listing:

01. Nostalgia
02. Egress
03. New Setting
04. Stormcalling
05. Adrift
06. Thawing Innocence
07. Stare Into The Sun
08. Canvas For Departure

Run Time: 55:13