Shaka Rock is the latest release from Australian rock band Jet. From the very first track, this CD has radio single feel written all over it. Each and every tune could easily be heard on nearly any modern rock station across the country. This is an energetic rock album packed with well-written, well-produced tunes, that are a rowdy blend of raw rock and roll reminiscent of the British band The Clash.

Every tune on here has a groove that quickly gets under your skin and can easily be danced to. In fact, I imagine the dance floor at a Jet show is teeming with sweaty bodies moving and grooving to the beat.

After listening to the disc in its entirety I am not sure I can single out just one tune that would be a favorite of mine, they are all fun and extremely contagious. I really enjoyed each one of them. Honestly there are far to many damn good tunes on here to single them all out but the ones that stood out for me are the opener, “K.I.A. (Killed In Action)” and “Good Bye Hollywood.”

I do not really have anything bad to say about Shaka Rock. While it is most definitely not a metal album, it is a solid rocking Rock and Roll disc that is absolutely worth checking out. I really enjoy this kind of music and I can honestly say this CD has withstood steady listening, in my CD player. I would highly recommend it.   [ END ]

Track Listing:

01. K.I.A. (Killed In Action)
02. Beat On Repeat
03. She’s A Genius
04. Black Hearts (On Fire)
05. Seventeen
06. La Di Da
07. Goodbye Hollywood
08. Walk
09. Times Like This
10. Let Me Out
11. Start The Show
12. She Holds A Grudge

Run Time: 40:53