It’s a little disheartening that the band I have grown up with has been completely abolished by an over indulged rock star. But at least one of the members is doing something productive, enter Duff McKagan, former Guns N’ Roses bassist, and currently active with Velvet Revolver and his own project Loaded. Rounding out this musically rich lineup and going by the moniker of Duff McKagan’s Loaded are drummer Geoff Reading (Green Apple Quick Step), bassist Jeff Rouse (Vendetta Red, Alien Crime Syndicate) and guitarist Mike Squires (Alien Crime Syndicate).

Two things come to mind when listening to the new album, Sick: old school GNR, and real punk rock like that of the Ramones. You can’t help but think of old school GNR on this album. I mean the vocals and the melodies are the closest thing to a GNR record we’ll ever get from the bands core members. This record also brings you back to a gritty Seattle grunge sound with lyrics to boot. “IOU” on the other hand, gives you a more classic metal sound infused with current metal traits. It has a raw feel to it, nothing like GNR or VR; it’s got its on personality, stripped down and all. It has that right amount of gritty sleaze to keep you listening straight on through.

While not working on Velvet Revolver, or this band, Duff currently writes for the Seattle Weekly and a financial article for Playboy. Now you are probably thinking what Rock N Roller does finance well!? Truth be told, the man has a finance degree. Leave it to a rock star to work with Playboy… on finances!

This release is darn good if I may say so myself. I was quite impressed with the effort; half expecting some tired attempt at a money-grab. This is not the case; in fact, it seems as if Loaded has much more potential than initially meets the eye. Favourite tracks for me were “Forgive Me” and “No Shame”.  [ END ]

Track Listing:

01. Sick
02. Sleaze Factory
03. Flatline
04. IOU
05. The Slide
06. Translucent
07. Mother’s Day
08. I See Through You
09. Forgive Me
10. No Shame
11. Blind Date Girl
12. Wasted Heart
13. No More

Run Time: 49:49
Release Date: 04.07.2009