Many people can’t believe that Zao have been around Since 1994; and I have to say they are one of the bands that really got me into heavier music and overall they have been very influential. Many people say they are one of the first metalcore bands and that lead singer Dan has one of the best screams in metal.

Now, almost 15 years, later they STILL got it! Their newest effort Awake? is an original blend of hardcore, metal, punk and thrash which only further emphasizes their one of a kind sound that you have to hear for yourself.

If you are a fan of classic Zao, you would enjoy the new song “Reveal”; filled with some nice, dirty breakdowns, guitar squeals, and a bit of a southern touch – it is a great tune. If you have never heard of Zao before, then I would recommend listening to “Entropica”; it’s their catchiest song, and a mix of high and low vocals as well as melodic clean singing and a very evil “Mwa ha ha“ laugh that is just epic.

This is a CD that, you may not like right away, but when you hear it after few spins it becomes very catchy. A great CD to add to your collection if you are a fan of Suicide Silence, Emmure and (old) Atreyu.

Awake? Track Listing:

01. 1,000,000 Outstretched Arms Of Nothing
02. Entropica
03. The Eyes Behind the Throne
04. Human Cattle Masses Marching Forward
05. Romance of the Southern Spirit
06. What will you find?
07. Awake
08. Quiet Passenger Part 1
09. Reveal
10. Quiet Passenger Pt. 2 – The World Caved In

Run Time: 42:25
Release Date: May 5, 2009
Record Label: Ferret