Ghost of the Salt Water Machines is the latest release from the extreme metal band Architect. This CD is a heavy heart attack-inducing, grinding metal bombardment with an intensity that pushes the musical envelope for over thirty-eight minutes. This is a full-on, balls out assault on the senses. A mixture of ravenous, grinding double bass drumming alongside a massive wall of guitars and screaming, throat-ripping vocals makes Ghost of the Salt Water Machines an extreme metal head’s dream.

Similar in style to the extreme band Eyehategod, this disc is intense and each song has an inexorable fury and propulsive momentum that drives it towards a foray into chaos and madness. Thematically the band tackles many social and economic issues facing our times today; issues such as famine, greed and the depletion of our natural resources.

A downside, there is no variety on the disc; every track is blistering and punishing and after a while, they all seem to blend into each other becoming one great big wall of noise with instruments that were to me at times undecipherable.

If you are like me and you like your metal so you are able to distinguish at least some of the instruments, or you like your music a bit more on the melodic side, than this is not for you. On the other hand, if harsh, brash, in-your-face, unrelenting music is your thing, than this disc is right up your alley.  [ END ]

Track Listing:

01. Camelot In Smithereens
02. Uninventing the Wheel
03. Lamplighter
04. Death & Taxes
05. Casus Belli
06. I Am Become Death
07. House of 1000 Habeus Corpses
08. The Dog and Pony Show
09. Traitor

Run Time: 38:43