It only took one listen and I fell in love with Sugar Red Drive, the debut release from the band of the same name. This is an extremely glossy, well-produced, great sounding alt/pop metal record. The melodic, finely-crafted songs on this are very much in the vein of the Stone Temple Pilots and Seven Mary Three, both excellent bands in their own right.

I have been a fan of the Pop-Metal scene my whole life and Sugar Red Drive blew me away. It ranks right up there with the best of them. Catchy riffs and even catchier lyrics make this a perfect record to crank in your car on a hot summers night with the windows rolled down.

Highlights and or personal favorites of mine on CD include the “Wicked Sister” and “Red Machine” both of which are built around unbelievably catchy riffs that grab a hold of you and will have you singing along in no time at all. Other tracks worth mentioning are “Overdrive” and “Comin Down.”

On the down side, the CD is relatively short and the song “Millers Child” seems to be an obligatory acoustic ballad that does not quite fit in with the rest of the solid rockers on this disc and really seems to go nowhere in particular.

Honestly, I am surprised these guys are not more popular than they are because this is a fantastic record that has been placed into regular rotation on my CD player.  [ END ]

Track Listing:

01. Wicked Sister
02. Velvet Leash
03. One More Time
04. Red Machine
05. Grace
06. Millers Child
07. Liar
08. Overdrive
09. In My Head
10. Comin Down
11. Somebody Else

Run Time: 38:28