Canadian rockers Special Ops are sitting comfortably on their latest release CD Phase 2: Amidst The Madness. Special Ops have done an unbelievable job in redefining a new breed of metal. Combine elements of Nu-Metal with elements of Rap Metal and Alt-rock, add in a bunch of tempo changes and you might get close to what these guys sound like.

CD Phase 2: Amidst The Madness offers a wide variety of musical sensibilities. Just when you think you know what the band is going to sound like they change things up, refusing to be pigeonholed. No matter what you want to call them, this disc rocks like nobody’s business. A killer production accents the excellent musical chops of these guys. The vocals are extremely powerful and full of passion and emotion.

I really dug the opening track, “Anger Is Creeping.” Incorporating a killer riff with a great catchy chorus, I truly enjoyed it. the song has influences that reminded me of System of A Down combined with a bit of a Metallica thrown in for good measure. Without a doubt, the tune I enjoyed the most on this disc is “Tri-Five,” which is also built around a big riff and packed with tempo changes, this song definitely is the hardest tune on the album.

The production on this disc is stellar; it is big and ballsy but not too polished, it still manages to retain a bit of grit to it which I feel adds to the authenticity of the music Special Ops is playing.

At the end of the day, I feel CD Phase 2: Amidst The Madness is a breath of fresh air on the music scene. Special Ops have created a disc that will be a hit with metal fans across the board. There is something in here for everyone.  [ END ]

Track Listing:

01. Anger is Creeping
02. Better Off
03. Damn Yourself
04. Feel For You
05. Felony
06. Front Of The Line
07. George
08. Here I Go
09. Tri Five
10. You

Run Time: 32:44