Connect with us

Album Review

Escape The Fate

This War Is Our (10.21.2008)



This is a band that I haven’t heard from in a while. I really enjoyed their old CD There’s No Sympathy For The Dead, my favorite song being “The Guillotine.” Alas this is not a review of their old disc, but rather their newest effort This War Is Ours.

I honestly really don’t know what I think about this record. I knew it was going to be softer, but this CD took me by surprise. The band went from being Metal/Post Hardcore to an Emo, Pop/Punk, Metal sound… I’m really not sure what to think. Tracks like “We Won’t Back Down”, “On To The Next One”, “Ashley” and “Let It Go” are very catchy Pop/Punk songs, but damn this just isn’t the Escape The Fate sound I so enjoyed in the past.

Eventually the song, “The Flood” came along and thankfully it sounded very similar to their previous work… but once again, after a little while the tune gets really catchy and Pop-like, then it just randomly goes Metal again. This also occurs on “You Are So Beautiful.” This however, makes no sense to me… it’s like going from My Chemical Romance to something heavy and metal… it just does not fit.

My Favorite song on the whole disc is, “This War Is Ours (The Guillotine Part II).” This is a throw back to the old Escape The Fate sound that I initially loved. Catchy Post Metalcore with amazing guitar solos… if the CD boasted more tunes just like this, then I would have offered a better rating.

You should check this release out if you’re a fan of A Day To Remember, Drop Dead Gorgeous, Haste The Day, My Chemical Romance, and Fall Out Boy. 6.4 Snakes on a plane out of 10.  [ END ]

Track Listing:

01. We Won’t Back Down
02. On To The Next One
03. Ashley
04. Something
05. The Flood
06. Let It Go
07. You Are So Beautiful
08. This War Is Ours (The Guillotine II )
09. 10 Miles Wide
10. Harder Than You Know
11. It’s Just Me

Run Time: 40:00