Cradle of Filth is back with their eighth studio album, Godspeed On The Devil’s Thunder. Starting out as a Black Metal band, the groups’ musical style has slowly shifted over time to what is now known as Extreme Metal. With a staggering 17 year career in the making, it’s no wonder these guys have so much material under their belts.

Unfortunately for fans, this latest album is nothing new. They did bring back Doug Bradley to do the cool narrations, as were heard on their previous album as well as Midian. While it is an interesting idea to use narrations, they do tend to over use them. Almost every song on the album has a narration that leads into the track… a little too much if you ask me.

Ultimately, the narrations aren’t the only were the album seems linear and repetitive. The music has now started to portray a pattern; narration or strings, followed by a slow rhythmic guitar piece, which brings in the rest of the band, beating heavy into your head. But this structure for almost every song is not what a true CoF fan is looking for. They (we) want diversity!

“Tragic Kindgom” is one of the few tracks that does not have a slow intro, nor does it have narrations. It does somewhat resemble old CoF, but still sounds far too much like Thornography or Nymphetamine. Once you hear the first few tracks on the record it’s easy to figure out when Dani will jump in with his vocals. I’ve even noticed that you can also guesstimate at the pitch he is going to use as well.

There were only three songs that seemed somewhat interesting, “Darkness Incarnate”, “Tragic Kingdom” and “Shat Out Of Hell”, but again, the tracks are far too predictable. It scares me to say that the entire band seems to be running out of steam, as well as ideas.  [ END ]

Track Listing:

01. In Grandeur And Frankincense Devilment Stirs
02. Shat Out Of Hell
03. The Death Of Love
04. The 13th Caesar
05. Tiffauges
06. Tragic Kingdom
07. Sweetest Maleficia
08. Honey And Sulphur
09. Midnight Shadows Crawl To Darken Counsel With Life
10. Darkness Incarnate
11. Ten Leagues Beneath Contempt
12. Godspeed On The Devil’s Thunder
13. Corpseflower

Run Time: 71:22