Post-hardcore has long-since been the style of music I have the most fun bouncing around to. Enter Alesana, a truly epic band that I believe will go down in history. They know how to set things off and the amount of energy these guys put up on stage is monumental. Moreover, it really helps that their music is utterly astonishing.

The first time I heard this band, I was reminded of Chiodos. While the two bands do have similarities, I would prefer to call Alesana the “darker version of Chiodos” – considering the screams are a lot more demonic, and the breakdowns can be just as brutal, if not heavier.

The opening track on the disc is “This Is Usually The Part Where People Scream.” I was pretty sure the title alone was indicated; “this track is going to be heavy.” And it was! It is by far my favourite jam on the album; it’s catchy, rhythmic, and heavy. Just before the song’s riveting breakdown, the vocalist whispers; “This is the part where you are supposed to scream.” It sent chills all over my body and still does every single time I hear the line.

“Better Luck Next Time, Prince Charming” is a great song as well. The musicianship right through the entire song really is too difficult to express in words. The lyrics are definitely inspired by the Prince Charming fairy tale, with lyrics like “He’ll make your dreams come true” and what not, but the tune itself does not remind one of said tale whatsoever.

A totally amazing effort from an equally amazing band. The only thing that I urge more than picking up this disc, is actually seeing the band live in action!  [ END ]

Track Listing:

01. This Is Usually The Part Where People Scream
02. Goodbye, Goodnight, For Good
03. Seduction
04. A Most Profound Quiet
05. Red And Dying Evening
06. Better Luck Next Time, Prince Charming
07. The Uninvited Thirteenth
08. Sweetheart, You Are Sadly Mistaken
09. And They Call This Tragedy
10. All Night Dance Parties In The Underground Palace
11. Endings Without Stories
12. As You Wish
13. Obsession Is Such An Ugly Word

Run Time: 51:08