In Flames is regarded as one of the pioneers of melodic death metal, and I believe this statement to be true. Going strong for 18 years, the band’s popularity is growing day by day. Hailing from Sweden, it’s no wonder how the band has such a vast amount of skill and knowledge in the metal genre. Now onto the band’s ninth studio release, A Sense of Purpose.

In Flames usually uses themes or ideals when recording an album. This time however, they wanted to try something a little different. The majority of the album focuses on more personal issues, rather than astronomy (as the band has done several times before). Also, much like Come Clarity, the band uses clean vocals more often than rough growls.

Unlike the bands usual style, “The Chosen Pessimist” is considered to be the band’s longest recorded track. Most of the time, their songs top out between 3 and 5 minutes, but this track is longer than 8 minutes. The use of violins is not common in the midst of their musicianship, taking the band to higher heights than ever before. To be entirely honest with you guys, the track was really boring. Nothing really that monumental.

Moreover, a few of the tracks on the album used very metalcore sounding guitar riffs, which did not fit in with the melodic death metal style what-so-ever.

Modern In Flames fans will love this album, however if you’re a fan of Colony, you might not be that into it. For any fan of metal that enjoys when a band evolves, then I definitely suggest A Sense of Purpose. For those stuck in the past, skip this one.  [ END ]

Track listing:

01. The Mirror’s Truth
02. Disconnected
03. Sleepless Again
04. Alias
05. I’m the Highway
06. Delight and Angers
07. Move Through Me
08. The Chosen Pessimist
09. Sober and Irrelevant
10. Condemned
11. Drenched In Fear
12. March to the Shore

Run Time: 47:59