Black Tide is a three-piece band from Miami. Their debut album Light From Above can be found on the best selling racks in your local CD stores, or even your local Wal-Mart. They have been recognized for their talent by being invited to join the Rockstar Energy Mayhem Festival, with such bands as Slipknot, Disturbed, Dragonforce, 36 Crazy Fists, Airbourne, and many more.

Light From Above has many catchy tunes that you might find yourself singing to when you are taking a drunken stroll through the park at 2am on a Saturday night. Gabriel Garcia’s voice is one that will latch itself onto your brain like a leech that has found a blood-filled vessel to suck dry. Even when you are too plastered to remember where your house is, you will still hear him singing faintly somewhere deep inside your cranium. Though Garcia’s voice is memorable, it is certainly not the only mentionable aspect of the band. Every rock star in this three-piece band is equally talented; none of them overshadow each other, which is what makes their music so pleasing to hear; nobody is attempting to show off.

One track on Light From Above stood out to me much more than all the others. “Light From Above” is a song that can match the creativeness of John Lennon himself. It is written extremely well, and the instrumentation is superb. The mixture of pinch harmonics with palm-muted notes is perfectly executed, while the lyrics fit into the song with ease; however, what fully caught my attention the first time listening to the song would have to be the stellar drumming. It is not extremely difficult, but I find the beat entrancing.

“One for the ages,” is the perfect way to describe Black Tide’s debut album Light From Above. They bring talent to the table that is certainly hard to come by, mixing a unique vocal style with superb instrumentation. Black Tide is definitely a band to keep your eyes on.  [ END ]

Track Listing:

01. Shockwave
02. Shout
03. Warriors Of Time
04. Give Me A Chance
05. Let Me
06. Show Me The Way
07. Enterprise
08. Live Fast Die Young
09. Hit The Lights
10. Black Abyss
11. Light From Above

Run Time: 45:24
Release Date: 2008