Vaeda is a three-piece band that rocks out without limit. They hail from New York, New York, a huge place for all music. It was while rocking it out in all the local clubs they got their big break signing with Playtyme Entertainment. They play music best known and described as “emo,” which to me (although a ton of bands tend to lean this way) I still detect a little something different about Vaeda. While playing the guitar, Ian Cole lets you hear his whiny singing voice, bass player Aristotle Dreher lets you feel his wrath on the bass guitar, and Oliver Williams whacks away on the drums.

The album State Of Nature starts out by rocking it hardcore with the song “Money.” Ian’s vocals remind me very much of Pete Loeffler (vocalist of the much respected band Chevelle). The solo in this song gives you a slight creepy feeling going up your spine, like a tingling sensation that makes the hairs on the back of your neck stand up on end. This track is the start to a great CD and has most of the components needed for a good song; interesting lyrics, decent instrumental, and also an intriguing guitar solo.

“1.25” is the 7th track on this 12 track CD and for this song Vaeda decided to give you a look at some of the slower instrumental. While slowing down the guitar, it gives Ian more freedom to be able to play much more difficult licks and better sounding guitar riffs. Personally I feel that this is one of the better songs I’ve heard in a long time. The instrumental traps your mind in a vortex and even if you wanted to, it’s difficult to skip past this song.

The final track on the album is “Cacophony.” The song goes for nearly a full minute before you even hear the sound of a guitar string being strummed. I feel that this has a bad effect on the song overall, considering most people don’t have the attention span to sit in silence for that length of time. Once you get past the slow start the song is a pretty good one to listen to. It’s a very slow song that makes you feel Ian’s pain as he is singing. At about 3 minutes into the song it reaches the climax and the drums and bass start to play harder. The vocals get harsher and the tension begins to rise only to fall again as they resort to the same slow guitar riff. The band could have chosen a better song to finish off the album.

Overall, Vaeda has created a “decent” album. I would recommend it highly to Chevelle fans because of the similar vocal style. I can’t think of many other fans that would be able to relate to the music however. If you feel like you’d enjoy this album, then go out and give it a try. I would have to give Vaeda’s State Of Nature a 6.5/10 because of the lack of excitement on the album. Otherwise it would be an outstanding contribution to music!  [ END ]

Track Listing:

01. Money
02. All For You
03. Battle Song
04. Jesus Rides the Subway
05. Wait Your Turn
06. Bite My Tongue
07. 1.25
08. Thief
09. Imperial
10. Kneejerk
11. Son of the Viper
12. Cacophony

Run Time: 46:01