Hailing from Brooklyn, New York, apparently the most “brutal” area of New York (so say many famous rap artists), the band is one of the earliest bands that have succeeded in being one of the biggest goth/doom metal groups in existence. Since the year the band formed, back in ‘89, they have only lost one of their original band members, Sal Abruscato, who left to join metal band Life of Agony. Once Sal left in ‘93, the band recruited Johnny Kelly (drums), who has been a phenomenal success. He joined the strong line-up consisting of Peter Steele (vocals/bass/guitar/keyboards), Josh Silver (keyboard), and Kenny Hickey (guitar).

Opening up the album is the title track, “Dead Again.” I was slightly disappointed with this track. Now although lyrically they stick to their traditional style, the instrumental changed a bit. The guitar riff isn’t as heavy as their usual stuff, and it seems almost too cheerful. The band usually writes songs that are about sex, depression, and death, yet this song sounds too cheerful to be about said topics. The track is about drug abuse, but the instrumental doesn’t give it that feel; and it’s a little difficult to understand Peter’s vocals half of the time, to get what he’s saying.

“Halloween in Heaven” is fifth, and again, Peter’s different vocal style is a little too difficult to understand. He makes the odd syllables vibrate, and his tone fluctuates up and down at odd times. I don’t know if this was the sound he was going for, but it’s too difficult on the ears to pay attention to what he’s doing… without popping a blood vessel. The instrumental however, reverted back to their original style a little more. The distortion is back to where it rightfully belongs. There’s a little bit of a surprise guest vocalist part way through this track when Tara Vanflower, originally of Lycia, adds her melodic vocals to the song.

The last track on the album is “Hail and Farewell to Britain.” It’s quite strange how the track doesn’t really have much to do with Britain. The song is about how he used to think of a certain person as royalty, but thinks differently now. I enjoyed this track, because most people understand where Peter is coming from. Almost every single one of us has been deceived in one way or another by a guy or a girl, only to have our hearts smashed in. I liked the guitar riff to this track; it ranges from heavy metal, right to classic rock guitar solos.

Although I was disappointed in the change of their distortion levels and variety of riffs chosen, I’d still say the album was half decent. The drums were tighter than ever, with no faults to make any bad judgement on whatsoever. I give this album a 7.0/10.  [ END ]

Track Listing:

01. Dead Again
02. Tripping A Blind Man
03. The Profits of Doom
04. September Sun
05. Halloween in Heaven
06. These Three Things
07. She Burned Me Down
08. Some Stupid Tomorrow
09. An Ode to Locksmiths
10. Hail and Farewell to Britain

Run Time: 60:12