Hamilton, Ontario is definitely the home one of the best metal bands in Canada (and the world) today. That band is none other then Threat Signal. Let me tell you right off the bat these guys fucking rock harder then most bands out there. And what’s even cooler is that they still love to play small gigs in little venues even though they are on a huge label like Nuclear Blast.

Threat Signal’s music is very balls to the wall and punchy at the same time, and the dual guitars of Kyle McKnight and Rich Howard really stand out. The whole band is super tight to be honest and with their new CD Under Reprisal, which was released August 22nd 2006, you can definitely understand why I said what I did. The disc has 11 killer tracks that will kick your teeth out. The sound is much like Fear Factory but with a bit more of a twist of the metal. Since Fear Factory is such a big influence on these guys it was only right that Christian Olde Wolbers from Fear Factory produced this CD. You’ll also hear slight sounds of bands such as Meshuggah, Killswitch Engage, and even Pantera.

Threat Signal’s music can be described as Advanced Metalcore with some Syncopated Thrash; with a nice dose of melody intertwined. Threat Signal opens the CD up right away with a fast and heavy song called “Rational Eyes.” This song really sticks out because for one, it’s amazing to have as the opener for the CD and two, the riffs are fucking sick!

Threat Signal blends the different sounds together so well and doesn’t take a single step back doing so by any means. The melodic choruses on this album are almost more then mind blowing; they are preformed much better then you would assume from many bands. The fact that they are so catchy makes this CD a must-have if you’re a fan of the “Melodic Metalcore” stuff. But just remember, because I say melodic it doesn’t mean they’re not heavy. In all honesty this is some of the heaviest shit I have heard in a long time!

“A New Beginning” is the 5th track on the CD and is very heavy but also very melodic at the same time. This is probably my favorite song on the album due to the simple fact that it’s very easy to get into By the same token it’s not at all radio friendly. The fact that singer Jon Howard can sing this well and scream like a demon is awesome and makes Canada look so good for havening a boy like this do his thing.

The overall sound of the CD is fucking tight as fuck and all I can say is, “Freaking right guys. You did it better then anyone else in Canada that has been trying to put out a record like this.” The drums are so dead on it’s not even amusing; it’s just simply wow! I recommend this CD to everyone… because it owns! Straight up, an easy 10 out of 10. And KEEP IT METAL YOU FUCKERS!!!  [ END ]

Track Listing:

01. Rational Eyes
02. As I Destruct
03. One Last Breath
04. Seeing Red
05. A New Beginning
06. Counterbalance
07. Inane
08. Now
09. Faceless
10. Haunting
11. When All Is Said And Done

Run Time: 47:07
Release Date: 2006