Death metal is a widely known genre of metal, mainly originating from countries such as Sweden and Finland. The most hardcore and brutal death metal hails from these two countries. Hammerfall, one of these such groups, have released seven full length albums, Threshold being the seventh, and newest. The band consists of Joacim Cans (Vocals), Oscar Dronjak (Guitar/Backing Vocals), Stefan Elmgren (Guitar/Backing Vocals), Magnus Rosén (Bass), and Anders Johansson (Drums).

Now there aren’t too many Death Metal bands in the world. Some of these bands consist of In Flames, Children of Bodom, and Suffocation. All of which sound totally different. Well, Hammerfall is different as well; although the vocals remind me remarkably of Iron Maiden.

The album opens up with the track “Threshold,” which of course is the name of the album. The intro begins with a sort of chanting, which is extremely creepy I might add. Keyboard sounds in the background add a sense of dread. The guitar riff was amazing though and the bass was tight, as were the drums.

Fourth on the album is “Natural High.” The guitar riff sounds great, as do the drums and bass. Joacim’s vocals don’t really strike me as anything interesting in this track though. He uses a lot of clichés.

Ninth on the album is “Reign of the Hammer,” which is a great track. The guitar riff is fast and catchy, the bass plays along nicely with the song, and the drums keep the beat going strong. The track is all instrumental, and in a way is both a good thing and a bad thing.

Overall, the album was pretty good. Oscar and Stefan play amazing as usual, with Joacim’s vocals not really changing much from previous records. Now although his voice did disappoint me a little bit, I still give this album a 7.0/10.  [ END ]

Track Listing:

01. Threshold
02. Fire Burns Forever
03. Rebel Inside
04. Natural High
05. Dark Wings, Dark Words
06. Howlin’ with the ‘Pac
07. Shadow Empire
08. Carved in Stone
09. Reign of the Hammer [Instrumental]
10. Genocide
11. Titan

Run Time: 50:09
Release Date: 2006