My old, now broken up band Thryvn was at the time (2004-2005) one of the only instrumental bands around this area of Toronto, Canada. We had the fortune of playing with Mastery a few times when they were looking for a singer and still jamming at the dungeon jam space. After finding no suitable frontman, they decided to do what they are now doing and this is where it has got them today….

Mastery is the GTA’S (Greater Toronto Area) biggest Instrumental metal band and they totally kick some serious ass. These guys can draw an amazingly huge crowd and every show that they play seems to be sold out. The fans always seem to be super-hyper at their shows and their live sound is always so surprisingly tight. Lethal Legacy is the name of the album they just released on May 16th, 2006 under Toronto’s best metal label, Spinerazor Records.

This is easily one of the best CD’s I have heard from any of the bands in my area and the best part about Lethal Legacy is that it was produced by Mastery themselves. This is the band’s first-ever released and the fact that they did such a tight job all on their own only adds to the Mastery hype. With a stellar live show, great crowd response, and the release of this incredible disc, it’s only a matter of time before Mastery is a common household name. Overall Lethal Legacy sounds so amazing that when you hear it you say to yourself, “wow I have to see this band live at least 10 times today!” HAHA!

By far my favorite song on the CD is the single “Lethal Legacy.” It’s track number 5 on the disc and in my opinion is the catchiest song on the CD. Just the way the music itself stands out on this song is just truly phenomenal. All the songs are awesome, but this one really does it for me. The band has such an awesome trash metal sound to their music; almost like a Slayer sound but with a bit more balls to the wall for sure!

It’s so punchy that it will make your ears bleed goodness. The band members are all simply incredible at what they do, but the drummer Kevan Roy is by far one of the best metal drummers in the world today. This guy’s drum rig is like nothing I have ever seen before and he plays it like a mad scientist bringing the dead to life. The overall sound of the CD is very good and has a lot of punch to it. It’s very thick sounding and there are definitely no blank or dull spots on Lethal Legacy.

I recommend this CD to anyone that has a good taste in loud music today. 9/10!  [ END ]

Track Listing:

01. Behold…
02. Power Race
03. Numeration
04. No Tomorrow
05. Lethal Legacy
06. Nevermore
07. Numeration (Live)
08. Power Race (Live)

Run Time: 27:00