If you have never heard death metal or thrash, then this (or any other Cannibal Corpse release) will be the most intense thing to grace your CD player… ever. The vocals are the widely accepted, semi-brutal style that infrequently breaks into a crazy scream. The scream itself sounds like some crazy fucker you want to run from. For those CC fans out there, try mimicking “Devourment” or “Disgorge” vocals, they’re infinitely more brutal.

The drums are awesome; everything is played either as a double-bass semi-blast beat, or a steady single bass beat with simultaneous snare strokes… crazy flames and blast beats and tight as fuck. Guitar and bass both have sick tones and the riffs are amazing like always.

The Bleeding is Corpse’s fourth release and their last release with vocalist Chris Barnes. There are a lot of good death metal riffs on the CD, especially on tracks like “Staring Through The Eyes of The Dead,” “The Bleeding,” and “The Pick-Axe Murders.” However, the chunky death metal riffs combined with the great bass work done by Alex Webster and the decent production are so well done that it makes this CD sound amazing in so many ways. If you’re into death metal it won’t be coming out of your CD player for a while.

“Staring Through the Eyes of the Dead” is an awesome slab of Death/Thrash and is overall very memorable and a great way to start off the album. “Fucked With a Knife” (woah br00tal) has some nice riffs until we get Barnes screeching like a woman and some lame typical blast beats. “Stripped, Raped and Strangled” is a slower song for the most part with some nice trade offs from the guitar. Overall a highly memorable song as well.

“Pulverized” is pretty average and “Return to Flesh” is practically a thrash song with bad vocals, and is one of the better songs on here. “The Pick Axe Murders” is pretty weak, and sounds like it was done nine times already on the last album. “She Was Asking for It” suffers from the same problem. “The Bleeding” is awesome; lots of great thrashy riffs and some weird stuff played in 6/4, but done tastefully

“Force Fed Broken Glass” is pretty cool. Lots of nice riffs and very atmospheric! We have Barnes “eating broken glass” in it, but it really just sounds like he’s choking on a dick. “An Experiment in Homicide” has a few nice riffs, for only being a 2 and 1/2 minute song. Regardless of what others might say, this is the best death metal album I’ve heard in a long time. I give this CD 9.5 out of 10.  [ END ]

Track Listing:

01. Staring Through the Eyes of the Dead
02. Fucked With a Knife
03. Stripped, Raped and Strangled
04. Pulverized
05. Return To Flesh
06. The Pick-Axe Murders
07. She Was Asking For It
08. The Bleeding
09. Force Fed Broken Glass
10. An Experiment In Homicide

Run Time: 44:24
Release Date: 1994