More than anything, the South is known for its music and its strong family ties. Both of which are highlighted with Black Stone Cherry, a Kentucky based band that redefines southern rock for a modern audience. By any standard, BSC is unconventional: they take the larger-than-life mystique of classic rock and modernize it with a driving attack that is equal parts roots and modern hard rock. Few bands this young – none of the four members is older than 23, the youngest is 20 – sound this powerful or versatile. They’re hard and heavy, but Black Stone Cherry is southern to the core, and they come by their love of music in genuine way: it’s in their blood, and it’s in their home.

Say what you will about the metal industry’s label giant Roadrunner Records, but after well over two decades in the business, they still throw the occasional curve ball. Such is the case with Edmonton, Kentucky’s Black Stone Cherry, quartet who could have just as easily been seen in the background of any photo from the original Woodstock… if only they were alive when it happened. It’s rock and roll, boys! No frills, no high-falutin’ pyro, and I dare say none of these guys look like the corpse-paint type. Scared off yet? Nah? Then knock back a cold one or six, and read on.

Proving that old music can become new again, Black Stone Cherry surface with a debut album that recalls the peaks of grunge-flecked 1990s alt-rock from Soundgarden to Stone Temple Pilots. Lead singer and guitarist Chris Robertson could certainly cover for anyone from Scott Weiland to Scott Stapp. The whole band seems to work great and ultimately sound fucking awesome together. They just seem to have that perfect sound and because it’s so tight, it hits you so fucking hard you feel like getting drunk all night.

PS: This if what I would like to call drinking music… HAHA!

The guitar players are sick, but you will not find no myxolidian inverted 32nd-fret lead work here. Just the solid, blue-collar riffs and scorching leads that seem to only come from those born South of the Mason- Dixon line, reliably executed by Robertson and Wells. The rhythm section of Jon Lawhon and John Fred Young (son of Richard Young, of Kentucky Headhunters fame) provides a granite-tough slab for much of the music found here, “When the Weight Comes Down” being no exception.

The song races forward with the energy of The Four Horsemen’s classic “Life Ain’t Easy”, reveling in nothing but the sheer, unadulterated power of a Fender plugged directly into a Marshall stack. The drummer is tight as hell and your probably thinking, “meh, just your standard rock drummer probably.” Well, if you are, then you’re fucking wrong FAGNUTS. The fucker can rip your mom another hole like nothing with his sticks. He seems to do the most bad-ass fills, the double bass is dead on, and he can flam like no other.

Over all I give this CD 10 out of 10, so pick up Black Stone Cherry’s self titled debut on July 18th or I’ll piss on you
[ END ]

Track Listing:

01. Rain Wizard
02. Backwoods Gold
03. Lonely Train
04. Maybe Someday
05. When the Weight Comes Down
06. Crosstown Woman
07. Shooting Star
08. Hell & High Water
09. Shapes of Things
10. Violator Girl
11. Tired of the Rain
12. Drive
13. Rollin’ On

Run Time: 46:23