Myke Harrison is not only an incredibly amiable individual but also an equally gifted musician. Roughly four years ago, for a one year period, I had the great fortune of living with Myke. He was my next-door neighbour and our common love for loud music kick-started our friendship. At that point in Myke’s life he was already greatly involved with music.

He was continuously playing his guitar and was a member of a band named Noisegate. The band did well for a while, but unfortunately slowly fell apart. Despite the fact that Myke was now band-less, he continued to explore his creative abilities. His unrelenting desire to be a great musician is finally starting to payoff, for he recently released his debut solo project; The Collected Apologies.

I have always known Myke as a rocker who played music akin to bands such as Finger Eleven and Nickelback. Needless to say, I was amazed to discover how mellow his new album is. Of course, why should I have been surprised, Myke is a multifaceted musician. The Collected Apologies dons nine warm and heartfelt tracks, all of which ought to leave the listener with a smile.

Tracks such as “10 & Milverton” and “Ballet Dancer” are especially melodious and send a pleasant chill down the spine. Alternately, songs such as “The Story” and “You’ve Never Looked so Good” are a tad more upbeat and very catchy. As a whole, the album displays Myke’s abilities to cleverly manipulate his guitar as well as his equally impressive vocal skills. Myke’s debut album is riveting and incredibly emotional.

As a debut album, one could expect nothing more. Myke is an extremely talented musician and definitely has a prosperous career ahead of him. As an avid music collector, I was awfully pleased with the album. I only hope that Myke receives all the successes that he deserves, for other than his musical gifts he is one of the nicest people that I have ever met. Good luck Myke.  [ END ]

Track Listing:

01. The Story
02. 10 & Milverton (Ageing Well)
03. You’ve Never Looked So Good
04. Ballet Dancer
05. Sonic Vandalism I
06. Is It Still Alright?
07. Sonic Vandalism II
08. 13 Conversations About One Things
09. Sonic Vandalism III

Run Time: 31:29
Release Date: 2004


Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada's (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve of the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.